HomeEventsScholarshipNewsletterAbout Us
2009 Installation Banquet



February 22, 2009 at the Ala Moana Hotel


Mistress of Ceremonies, Lisa Shishido, welcomed everyone to Hui Makaala's 63rd year since being chartered back in 1946.  Judy Shimabukuro gave the invocation to the intimate crowd to begin the delicious lunch. 


A beautiful crystal vase with clock was presented to outgoing 2008 President and Uchinanchu of the Year, Val Kato.  Val then presented her farewell speech thanking everyone for their support and loyalty. 


With the introduction of the 2009 incoming officers, Former Senator Patsy Young, conducted the swearing-in ceremony with a unique blend of colors depicting each office.   The exchanging of the gavel and message from the 2009 President, Rena Takushi, then followed.





Hui Makaala was privileged to have as the guest speaker, Ryan Towata, an educator with the Department of Education, (Liholiho Elementary).  Ryan gave an inspiring message of his career aspirations to teach and steer our young people toward achieving a great future.


President Rena honored us with her recently-acquired talent of Okinawan dance.  Rena is currently a student with the Tamagusuku Ryu Senjukai Ryubu Dojo, under the leadership of Sensei Frances Nakachi.  Sensei Nakachi opened the program with the ceremonial tradition of Kagiyadefu.  Other dance students sharing their talents were:  Shasta Yamada, Eric Kobayashi and Ainoa Miyashiro.

Guest speaker Ryan Towata.


Lisa Shishido awards Val Kato with the Uhchinanchu of the Year plaque.


Sensei Frances Nakachi.






First Vice-President

Second Vice-President

Recording Secretary

Corresponding Secretary


Assistant Treasurer



Rena Takushi

Liz Teruya

Carol Morimoto

Michael Nakada

Vicki Kitajima

Lisa Shishido

Dennis Shimabukuro

Reid Yamashiro



Al Kakazu

Valerie Kato

Ryan Okunaga

Patsy Takaesu

Pam Tamashiro

Jennifer Waihee



Scholarship Committee

Rena Takushi


Golf Tournament

Ryan Okunaga &

Carol Morimoto


Fashion Show

Karen Shishido &

Patsy Takaesu


Officers and Directors: (R-L), Ryan Okunaga, Val Kato, Dennis Shimabukuro, Vicki Kitajima, Reid Yamashiro, Patsy Young (who conducted swearing in ceremony), Liz Teruya, Carol Morimoto, Rena Takushi (President) and Lisa Shishido.



Home      Events      Scholarship      Newsletters     About Us     Updates