HomeEventsScholarshipNewsletterAbout Us

2007 Hui Makaala Scholarship Recipients


L-R: Liane Yoshitsugu, Ellise Uyema, Marlene Shimamura, Rendi-Ann Nagata, Ai Kobashigawa, Sarah Fong, and Valerie Kato (Scholarship Committee Chair).  Not Pictured: Case Miyahira.

2007 Scholarship Banquet

July 22, 2007 at the Ala Moana Hotel

The Scholarship Committee (Ryan Okunaga, Reid Yamashiro, Ruby Uehara, Jennifer Waihee, Lisa Shishido, and Rena Takushi, headed by chair Val Kato), selected seven outstanding recipients for the 2007 Hui Makaala Scholarship.  Each recipient was presented with a $2,000 or $2,500 scholarship to be used towards his or her college education.

At the Scholarship Banquet on July 22, 2008, the graduates were motivated by guest speaker Sally Lee, "Mother of the Year".  

Recipients Marlene Shimamura (left) and Ellise Uyema singing "Someone to Watch Over Me" (right) entertained the attendees.



Sarah Fong

Ai Kobashigawa

Case Miyahira

Rendi-Ann Nagata

Marlene Shimamura

Ellise Uyema

Liane Yoshitsugu

Castle High School

Farrington High School

Iolani School

Waipahu High School

Roosevelt High School

Punahou School

Kaimuki High School

Northern Arizona Un.


Occidental University

UC - San Diego

Un. of San Francisco

Washington University

UH at Manoa








Home      Events      Scholarship      Newsletters     About Us     Updates