HomeEventsScholarshipNewsletterContact Us

2012 Hui Makaala Scholarship Recipients


The 2012 Hui Makaala Scholarship Recipients with

President Lisa Shishido and Scholarship Chair, Clayton Uza

Not pictured, the Scholarship Selection Committee: Eric Nitta, Val Kato, Ryan Okunaga and Ruby Uehara.

2012 Scholarship Banquet

July 22, 2012 at the Mandalay Restaurant

Congratulations to the following 2012 Hui Makaala Scholarship recipients.  These students are well deserving of the scholarships as they have displayed excellence in academics, leadership characteristics at their respective schools as well as their communities and above all, have displayed a strong interest in perpetuating the Okinawan culture through various extra-curricular activities.

At the Scholarship Banquet, emceed by President Lisa Shishido, club members were treated to recipient performances after a Chinese family-style lunch/  Later, the recipients and their families were touched by a a heartfelt "open letter" from a parent to a college-bound student, full of wisdom and best wishes, by guest speaker Pamela Tamashiro, past Hui Makaala and HUOA President.




Lauren Asato

Jayna Funakoshi

Leia Shinsato

Celina Kiyuna

Matthew Taira *

Evan Kawamura

Taylor Preza

* Prior 2011 Recipient

Kapolei High School

Maryknoll High School

Moanalua High School

Pearl City High School

Pearl City High School

Hanalani School

Kaiser High School


Pacific University

Seattle University


UH-West Oahu

Creighton University


California State University










Home      Events      Scholarship      Newsletters     About Us     Updates